Connecting my interest in debating to Political Science

Have you ever met someone as stubborn as a rock? So strong of will (bullheaded) that they will argue and argue their point until they’ve won (or rather you’ve simply become annoyed and conceded to let them believe they’ve won). I am one of those people. Debates have always been one of my redeeming and, sometimes, degrading qualities. However, somewhere in life I learned that there is not always a right answer. We argue and argue; yet no concrete answer emerges. Now, instead of holding firm to answers, I hold firm to arguments: their strengths and weakness.

So, why political science? Of all the abstract areas to focus my attention, why this field? To be honest, I’m not entirely sure myself. Somewhere in my education leading to college, I decided that this was the conversation I wanted to be a part of. Locke, Hobbes, Aristotle, Montesquieu, and so many more, are all great thinkers that are studied by political scientists.

The project that I’m working on for my capstone focuses on Montesquieu. His book, The Spirit of the Law, goes beyond borders. From idealism to realism and ancient to modern, researching Montesquieu gives me the oargumentspportunity to think about states in a different way. The connections between nations are becoming stronger and more numerous, and my hope is to learn how these interactions play out in theory, and reality. For theory, we look to history and great thinkers, but for reality, we just have to wait.

by Charles Moore

Leave a Reply

