A Great Mentor-Mentee Relationship

One of the most vital parts about undergraduate research is having a great relationship with one’s mentor. In order to have a great mentor-mentee relationship, both the mentor and the mentee need to be on the same wavelength. For some people, this type of intellectual socialization comes naturally; for others, this can be difficult. In the time that I have spent working with Dr. Radasanu, it has become increasingly evident that she excels as a mentor.Radasanu-Andrea

My first encounter with Dr. Radasanu was in an interview for an internship offered by the political science department. (I did not receive this internship). However, she did email me to suggest that I take a class she was teaching and to offer me a (department approval only) class that she was co-teaching. Through these classes, I was able to learn the various arguments that Dr. Radasanu presented. Since the classes were so enjoyable (partially from my interest in the subjects, but mainly from in-class discussion facilitated by Dr. Radasanu) I decided that this (Political theory) was the topic I wished to cover for my honors capstone.

As this summer research approaches its end, I am glad of my choice in my mentor. We have met several times to discuss the various sections of the research, from the primary source (Montesquieu) to the secondary sources (articles). Now that the summer is over, the next step will be to take an independent study with Dr. Radasanu in the fall and then work on my capstone in the spring.

by Charles Moore

Leave a Reply

