Confirming My Career Path

I truly enjoyed my time as an Honors Scholar. During the fall and spring semesters, there was much less work than during the summer. My independent study during the fall was very easy to complete because of the extensive research I did, and I spent spring semester preparing for the Undergraduate Research and Artistry Day (URAD). The work was much more spread out during the two semesters. I learned that the prevalence of certain eating disorders is similar in both western and non-western countries and that Other Specified Feeding and Eating Disorders is rising in both males and females. While presenting at URAD, I had many people interested in my results, which was extremely rewarding.

Although I greatly enjoyed the research, the most rewarding part of my work was not my results; rather, my work as an Honors Scholar confirmed that I want to specialize in eating disorders as a registered dietitian. I am extremely passionate about eating disorders and want to make it my career to help those who suffer. Fortunately, I was accepted into Northern Illinois University’s Masters/Dietetic Internship, which will allow me to pursue a certificate in eating disorders and obesity. Since my time as an Honors Scholar, I have also began to volunteer for the National Eating Disorder Association. I am so grateful for the opportunity that I had to focus on eating disorders as an Honors Scholar, and the clarity that it brought me regarding my future.EatingDisorderWordmap

Leave a Reply

